History of the School of Art + Design

On July 1, 2017, the former School of Architecture and Allied Arts became the College of Design, composed of three new schools and one independent department: the School of Art + Design; the School of Architecture & Environment; the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management; and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. Department and program faculties within the college generated the school names by consensus within each school. The College of Design name emerged from naming parties, a faculty survey, and extended discussion with school leadership.

Laura Vandenburgh, Associate Professor of Art, was named the first head of the School of Art + Design.